A Realization

You were never once there
Yet my faith kept you present
Regardless of my useless attempts
Attempting to remove
Those thoughts from my mind
And make them truly nonexistent
Nonexistent to me
Just as the time spent together
Between us, it is very unreal
After walking away
Any chance between us
To form a bond has truly been sealed
I wanted you there
For the firsts I’ve experienced
Throughout the days of my life
Yet no longer do I need you
In any facet of life
For alone I have discerned wrong from right
Looking around me
I notice my friends
And admit that I am often jealous
The constant reminders
From the joys of fellow boys
That without you I have now missed
Yet I have learned to grow
And continually move on
For this life is my very own to live
And no longer shall I attempt
To help you experience
That thing for you that I once had to give.

“Early writing from years back, and an excerpt from “Life & Poetry”

2 thoughts on “A Realization

  1. This is deep, and though you may have felt a void growing up without your father, the fullness of your spirit, you words, your personality, and your love is such that it overflow to others!

    Like

Leave a Reply

