At First Dance

In a moment in which only confusion seems to exist,
The reality in which I dream begins to transcend
The boundaries of the reality in which I live
Causing my perception of this moment to both wind and unwind
Creating within my mind a feeling of in-balance

And like the silhouette of the most beautiful enchantress
At the blurred edge of my reality, you appear
And with every single movement of your hips,
Whether it be subtle or intense, I find myself trapped
Entranced by the rhythmic poetry of your dance

Feeling that the spirits of which I have partaken have overtaken me,
Yet, with a newfound level of confidence in uncertainty I proceed,
Beginning the journey across the unsteady abyss of bodies in motion
Drawn ever closer, intoxicated by your aura inflicting me like a potion
Unintentionally hoping for this to be more than just a chance

And as the totality of our distance goes from immense to only mere inches
And the maestro plays a ballad of soulful bliss in the background
With an increase in the rhythmic melody of my heartbeat
As the enticement of your attraction completely overtakes me, I reach
And grab control of this chance when I grab ahold of your hand and ask

May I have this dance?

Leave a Reply

