Lost Love’s Letter

They say you should never wear your heart on your sleeves
And I realize that’s because it’s so much like suicide when you,
Present your love to someone and they cut it…
They cut it at its roots like an unwanted weed
In the personal garden of love that is their Eden

Which is why I’m surprised at how un-reluctantly, I
Gathered up the fullness of my heart and my being,
Wrapped it, and tied it with the ribbon of my everything,
Kissed it with the fragrance that is the very breath of my soul,
And presented it wholly and solely to you

Even though within the depths of my mind I knew,
That being in love with you is like reaching toward the Heavens,
Trying to wrap your hand around a trail of stardust
You close your hand tightly, refusing to open it again, because you know
There is nothing there but the emptiness of your own false hope

I initially felt this to be the rough draft of loves suicide,
But now, I simply consider it my thank you letter
And if you find comprehension to be difficult to grasp,
Than hopefully these words will better help you to understand
How I can openly speak of the emotional fault in my stars

You see, though my love for you was only but a first aid kit
Where pieces of my heart were only used as convenient bandages
And my loyalty only a light dosage of emotional pain relief
With the care package of me only to be used in times of temporary need,
For repairing the scars of those you’ve chosen to falsely love

I still give thanks to you for an introduction to unsatisfied longing,
And for utilizing protective gloves and dull blades
On those days that you chose to handle the fragile package of my heart
For I can now move on truly with faith in knowing,
That God has indeed given my life in love, a second chance

Leave a Reply

