Because…..I Do

Someone asked me, why do you love her so much?
And at the time, I had this picture in my mind
Of quoting all of these poems that rhyme.
But for fear of running out of time, I
Simply responded by just saying, because I do

With a confused gaze they looked at me
As if I had just committed the highest level of love’s blasphemy,
As if the simplicity of my response made it only one of apathy
Therefore I very matter-of-factly explained my response

It’s like my heart will only beat, when my lungs can take in the air
That I am only able to receive whenever I am standing within her presence
You see, she gives me a reason to breathe

And when God created us, he made our souls on each side of a mirror,
So that whenever we met, there would be no mistaking
That we were perfectly made to reflect the greatness of each other,
Yes, we are soul mates.

Before her, I would often sit and wonder to myself,
Why anyone would find joy in losing control and falling into anything,
Especially love
But now that I am with her, I wake up every single day in Heaven,
And begin free falling in love with her over and over again,
Because I know that whenever the end of that day comes, she will catch me
And I will again be in Heaven preparing for my freefall all over again

I rejoice in the fact that I know that at any given moment,
I can truly say that I am more in love with her than I was even a minute ago,
And that on that day when we exchanged rings,
She became my forever and I her eternity, so understand
That when I answer your question in a way that seems minute to you,
Know that I answer it in the same way that I accepted the commitment
Under the eyes of the most high, by simply saying…..I do

3 thoughts on “Because…..I Do

  1. My new favorite, so beautiful baby! I am so blessed to be your wife, more than words can express! I love you! Great job 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

